Amalienborg Palace consists of 4 separate mansions, which together with wings surround the octagonal square and create a single architectural ensemble. Since the 18th century, the Palace has been the official residence of the Danish monarchs. It is now home to Queen Margrethe II of Denmark and her family.

The first castle on this site was erected in 1673 and named Sophie Amalienborg, in honor of king Frederick III`s wife Sophie Amalia. In 1689, it was destroyed by fire. During the reign of king Frederick V, construction of the new Amalienborg Palace complex was started. He planned to build this complex for the 300th anniversary of the reign of the Oldenburg dynasty in Denmark. Its first representative, king Christian I, was crowned in 1448.

According to the project of the architect Nikolay Eigtved, it was decided to build 4 separate Palace buildings, which together with the wings surround the octagonal square. In the Center of the square, there is a monument to king Frederick V in the image of the Roman Emperor. There is a changing of the guard of honor, which attracts many tourists.

The Palace buildings were built in the Rococo style. Their facades practically do not differ from each other. They are named after kings and princes. The mansions of Frederick VIII and Christian IX are the living residence of Queen Margaret and her family. Access to them is closed.

In 1754, the Christian VII mansion was built, then the Christian VIII mansion. These mansions are open to tourists. In the Christian VII mansion (also called the Moltke mansion), the Knights` hall and Banquet Hall are of particular interest. In the Christian VIII mansion (also called mansion Levensau) is the Museum of Amalienborg Palace.