Volga region of Russia attractions

The Volga region is located along the channel of the great Russian river Volga. It begins from Nizhny Novgorod and stretches to Saratov, all adjacent areas are also included in the Volga region.

Passing along several cities of the Golden Ring (Yaroslavl, Kostroma, Uglich, Ples) in the Central District, the Volga turns south and flows to the Caspian Sea. Nizhny Novgorod has been the trading capital of Russia for centuries. It is located at the confluence of two large rivers – the Volga and Oka. The Kremlin is on a high hill and the old quarters of the city are built around it.

Kazan is the capital of Tatarstan. It is a very beautiful city where Muslim and Christian culture are closely intertwined. The Kazan Kremlin is very impressive. As a whole, you can consider Kazan as a comfortable city both for living and for tourists. There are also interesting sights in the environs of the city – the former capital of the Kazan Khanate, the ancient Bolghar, the monastery on the island of Sviyazhsk and the Raifa Monastery of the Mother of God.

The city of Samara is further down the river. It was built near the bend of the Volga River, which it makes because of the Zhiguli Mountains. In this place you can visit the Samarskaya Luka National Park. In Samara itself there are many tourist attractions giving you some idea of the life of a trading city of the 19th century.

The Volga region includes several areas that are located close to the Volga: Mordovia, with its capital in Saransk, and Bashkiria (Ufa). The Perm region is also part of the Volga region, but Perm is included in the Ural on the Geo Meridian portal, since the city is located on the western slopes of the Ural Mountains, and regarding organizing tours, it is closer to Yekaterinburg.